General Information

Official name: the Republic of Armenia (Hayastani Hanrapetoutyun)

The Republic of Armenia is a sovereign, democratic, social and legal state. The state power is administered pursuant to the Constitution and the laws based on the principle of separation of the legislative, executive and judicial powers.


Yerevan city

Yerevan city population: 1,073,700 (as of 2016)

Official Language:  
Armenian is the official language of the Republic of Armenia.
Russian is widely used, especially in education

The absolute majority is the follower of the Armenian Apostolic Church.

Currency unit:  
The currency unit of the RA is dram (AMD), introduced in 1993.

3 022 866 (as of 2016)

Ethnic composition: 
Armenians` 96%
Minorities: Russians, Yezidis, Assyrians, Greeks, Ukrainians, Jews, Kurds and others.

Natural Resources: 
Armenia is rich in copper, coal, iron, bauxite, molybdenum, gold, silver, lead and zinc. Substantial deposits of pumice, marble, tufa, perlite, limestone, basalt and salt exist. Precious and semi-precious stones are also abundant.

29.74 thousand square kilometers

Average Altitude Above Sea Level:  
1,800 meters

Highest Mountain Peak: 
Aragats (4 095 meters)

The Flag:

The law “On the State Flag of the Republic of Armenia” was adopted on August 24, 1990, by the Supreme Soviet of the Republic of Armenia.
The State Flag is a rectangular panel with three equal horizontal stripes of red, blue and orange (from top to bottom).


The Coat of Arms:

The law “On the State Coat of Arms of the Republic of Armenia” was adopted on April 19, 1992, by the Supreme Soviet of the Republic of Armenia.
It is a rendition of the Coat of Arms of the First Armenian Republic (1918-1920) designed by member of the Russian Academy of Fine Arts, Architect Alexander Tamanian and artist Hakob Kojoyan.